BRIEF HISTORY DURING THE SNOW ERA (1813-58)
The area was named for Charles Cadogan, latter to become Lord Cadogan as Lord of the Manor of Chelsea. The square was built prior to 1811. Charles Dickens (1812-1870) wrote of Cadogan Place in 1838-39 in Nicholas Nickleby, serialized for 20 months. His book introduced readers to the bad education administered by the exploitive Mr. Squeers of Dotheboys Hall, an institution derived from the authorís childhood experience. According to Dickens, Cadogan Place was the connecting link "between the aristocratic pavements of Belgrave Square and the barbarism of Chelsea."
Source: Weinreb B, Hibbert C (eds). The London Encyclopaedia, 1993.
Old Ordnance Survey Map of 1869
Click here to see more details 10 years later